India's Moment Of Glory At Cannes 2016: 'The Cinema Travellers' Wins Special Jury Mention At Cannes 2016!

By Aditya Savnal. Posted on May 23, 2016

The 2016 edition of the Cannes Film Festival recently concluded with the main competition awards ceremony that was held at the Palais des Festivals. With twenty one films in competition, this year's edition of the world's biggest film festival saw filmmakers such as Xavier Dolan, Nicolas Winding Refn, Pedro Almodóvar, Asghar Farhadi and the Dardenne Brothers vying for the top honours at the festival.

While some of the wins were predictable, some of them did come as a surprise including that of Andrea Arnold who bagged the Jury Prize for her comic drama American Honey featuring Shia LaBeouf and Sasha Lane in lead roles. Acclaimed filmmaker Ken Loach who came out of his self imposed retirement post Jimmy's Hall, won the Palme d'Or for I, Daniel Blake while Xavier Dolan won the Grand Prix for It's Only The End of the World

Shirley Abraham and Amit Madheshiya's docu The Cinema Travellers which was premiered in the Cinema section at Cannes Classics this year has won the Special Jury Mention for L'Œil d'or (The Golden Eye). It also is also the first ever Indian docu to make it to Cannes.

Madheshiya who is an independent photographer and Abraham who has directed documentaries for brands such as Fox Television Studios, BBC Radio Four and Doordarshan previously and have also conducted a series of photo exhibitions and installations on the the concept of touring talkies in festivals and events across the world.

Juanjo Giménez Peña's Timecode won the Short Film Palme d'Or while João Paulo Miranda Maria's Moca Que Dancou Diabo (The Girl Who Danced With The Devil) was awarded a Special Mention by The Cinefondation and Short Film Jury. 

Sébastien Lifshitz's documentary Les Vies de Thérèse won the award for Queer Palm (Feature) and Anna Cazenave-Cambet's Gabber Lover won the Queer Palm awards for short and feature films respectively. The Queer Palm is an independently sponsored prize for LGBT-relevant films that enter into the Cannes Film Festival. The award was founded in 2010 by journalist Franck Finance-Madureira.

Given below is the list of the winners in the key categories.

Palme d'Or: Ken Loach, I, Daniel Blake

Grand Prix: Xavier Dolan, It's Only The End of the World

Jury Prize: Andrea Arnold, American Honey

Best Actress: Jaclyn Jose, Ma Rosa

Best Actor: Shahab Hosseini, The Salesman

Best Director: Olivier Assayas, Personal Shopper & Cristian Mungiu, Graduation

Best Screenplay: Asghar Farhadi, The Salesman

Camera d'Or (Best First Feature): Divines, Houda Benyamina

Queer Palm (Feature): Les Vies de Thérèse, Sébastien Lifshitz

Queer Palm (Short): Gabber Lover, Anna Cazenave-Cambet


4 Comments so far

Share your views

Wanna be a filmmaker?

Subscribe to our newsletter and get ahead.