'Q' Wins The Gollapudi Srinivas National Award For The Best Debut Film

By Srikanth Kanchinadham. Posted on August 04, 2015

Sanjeev Gupta's Q has been felicitated with the 18th Gollapudi Srinivas National Award for the Best Debut film. The film is is a gripping narrative about the transit visit of a six-year-old girl who is brought to Mumbai from a village. was selected from 27 nominations from across the country in several languages, including Hindi, Malayalam, Marathi, Bengali, Telugu and Kannada. The jury comprised of Director S M Vasanth, National Award-winning Film Editor Singeetham Srinivasa Rao and actor Rohini.

Along with winning one of the most prestigious awards in India, Q was screened at multiple International Film Festivals including São Paulo International Film Festival, Europe Split Film Festival and Ecologico International Film Festival. The film had also won Grand Prix Best Feature Film Award in Paris Indian International Film Festival- Extravagantindia 2015. The lead actress of the film Heeba Shah was given the  Best Actress Award at Delhi International Film Festival.

The Gollapudi Srinivas Award is a national-level private award given to a first-time director in Indian Cinema every year. The award, earlier bagged by directors including actor Aamir Khan (Taare Zameen Par) and Amit Rai (Road to Sangam), is given out in the memory of Gollapudi Srinivas (born March 3, 1966). While directing his début Telugu film Prema Pustakam, Gollapudi Srinivas succumbed to a water accident on August 12, 1992.


1 Comments so far

Share your views

Wanna be a filmmaker?

Subscribe to our newsletter and get ahead.